Cadbury This huge company began life as small shop at no 93 Bull Street, Birmingham which opened its doors in 1824. The proprietor, John Cadbury who was just 22 had persuaded his father to back his business idea.
|The shop sold mostly tea and coffee, any cocoa that was requested was ground by hand in a mortar and pestle. John Cadbury was a clever marketeer, an early promotional wheeze was to employ a Chinaman in full oriental dress to serve in the shop!.|
Business flourished and in 1852 the firm acquired the Royal Warrant as suppliers of drinking chocolate to Queen Victoria. In 1879 John Cadbury's sons, George and Richard built a large new factory on 14 acres of land outside Birmingham which they christened Bournville. Cadbury's Dairy Milk was launched in 1905 followed by Bournville Plain Chocolate in 1910. In 1919 the company merged with Fry's.
Over the years Cadbury have grown into a multinational company swallowing up many of the historic names in Bristish confectionery including Barratts, Bassetts, Maynards, Lions, Barker and Dobson, Jamiesons, Sharps and more. Inevitably lines have been lost as Cadbury's have rationalised their production to remain profitable in the 21st century.
Notable losses which have occurred in The Sugar Boy's recent memory are Pascall's Toffee Crunch, Barratt's Fish 'n' Chips, Barratt's Chocolate Tools and the foil wrapped, brick-shaped Keiller's Butterscotch which is now oval shaped and wrapped in a cellophane flo-bag.
A very recent re-branding operation seems to have cost us Maynard's Midget Gems! - now known as Bassett's, the liquorice flavour 'black ones' from Lions's Sports Mix and the name Merry Maid Caramels (the same sweets are now known as Jamieson's Chocolate Caramels).
The Sugar Boy is not sure that losing these fantastic brand names and traditions will benefit Cadbury's in the long term but is powerless to resist these changes made in the name of global marketing and efficiency.